Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant

Grant to a USA, Canada, or International Librarian or Library
Employee to Attend a Professional Development Conference

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Library Association (ALA) - Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grant of $1,250 to a USA, Canada, or International librarian or library employee to cover expenses related to attending a professional development conference. Eligible applicants are those that are new to the field of archive preservation. Funding is intended to subsidize the costs required to attend the ALA Annual Conference, including lodging, airfare, and registration fees.

The award consists of a $1,250 cash grant donated by the Library Binding Council, BMI, and a citation.

Applicants must have a willingness to participate in designated conference events including:
- Work with a member of the jury to identify relevant programs and interest group sessions to attend.
- Attend the Preservation Administration Interest Group Meeting.
- Attend a least one PARS discussion group meeting.

The American Library Association Annual Conference will be held June 20-25, 2019, in Washington, D.C.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 149313

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The award consists of a $1,250 cash grant.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible applicants must:

- Have five or fewer years of experience in the field of library and archives preservation.

- Currently work as a librarian or paraprofessional within a library or archives preservation department or who has preservation responsibilities within their institution, or a person currently enrolled in a preservation-related graduate program.

- Be willing to participate in designated conference events.

Members of the sponsor or its affiliated organizations are not eligible. Previous winners are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

Send nominations or applications to Bethany Davis by December 1, 2018.

The award is presented during the American Library Association Annual Conference each year at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony and Membership Meeting.

The recipient will be announced at the Preservation Administration Interest Group (PAIG) meeting at the ALA Midwinter Meeting and Annual Conference.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Send nominations and applications via email to the award jury chair.

Bethany R. Davis
Digital Processing Coordinator Librarian
Preservation & Conservation
University of Iowa Libraries

American Library Association
50 E Huron St.
Chicago IL 60611

Phone: 1-800-545-2433

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.