Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

Awards to USA, Canada, and International Post-
Secondary Educators for Innovative Teaching

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and Desire2Learn ( D2L)

Deadline Date:

01/19/20 11:59 PM EST


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $2,200 to recognize USA, Canada and International post-secondary educators for creative teaching methods that foster student-centered teaching and learning. Funding is intended to cover registration and travel costs to attend an annual conference. Eligible nominees can be teachers at post-secondary institutions, including all levels, disciplines, or terms of appointment.

Applicants should demonstrate a record of innovation(s) in areas including pedagogical approaches, teaching methods, course design, curriculum development, assessment methods and various tools or technologies that enhance learning and have had a significant impact on post-secondary education.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 158746

Number of Grants:

Up to five post-secondary educators are recognized each year.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Award recipients receive the following:
1) Up to $2,200.00 to offset the registration and travel costs to attend the Annual STLHE conference and an Award Recipients retreat the day before the conference
2) Two year membership in STLHE
3) Certificate of Recognition

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The D2L Innovation Award is open to all instructors currently teaching at a post-secondary institution, regardless of discipline, level, or term of appointment. Unique among the STLHE awards is that the D2L Innovation Award is international and open to applicants from all countries; however, applications will only be accepted in French or English.

Candidates do not need to be members of STLHE to apply.

Please note that the D2L Innovation Award is for individual achievement. Teams of instructors will not be considered.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline to submit an application package is Sunday, January 19, 2020, 11:59 P.M. Eastern. Applications must be in either English or French.

For enquiries regarding the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, please contact the D2L Innovation Award Coordinator or the STLHE Awards Chair.

Award recipients are expected to attend the 2019 STLHE conference, while will be held in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on 12 – 14 June 2019, and an Award Recipients retreat which will be held the day before the conference.

Selection Process and Timeline:

Application Dossiers:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit applications to dropbox:

For inquiries regarding the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, please contact:

D2L Innovation Award Coordinator
STLHE Awards Chair

Denise Stockley, President

Suite 204-260 Dalhousie St.
Ottawa ON
K1N 7E4

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.