Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Mani L. Bhaumik Award for Public Engagement with Science

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Scientist or Engineer
for Promoting Science and Technology Within the Community

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Deadline Date:

08/01/19 11:59 PM ET


Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International engineer or scientist to recognize contributions to promote public understanding of - and engagement with - technology and science. Nominees will be evaluated based on activities such as public outreach and dialogue, informal science education, science festivals and cafés, public policy, social and online media, and science communication (radio, books, television, and film).

Public engagement activities emphasize dialogue with various publics and often result from a public interaction or request or need. Specifically, these activities are defined as the individual’s active participation in efforts to engage with the public on science- and technology-related issues and promote meaningful exchanges between science and society. (For more on public engagement, see

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160043

Number of Grants:

One scientist or engineer will be chosen to receive the award each year.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The recipient receives a monetary prize of $5,000, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration, and reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting to receive the prize.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Nominee Eligibility:

- Nominees must be individual scientists or engineers.
- Eligible nominees include active or retired scientists and engineers from all disciplines who have contributed substantially to the public's engagement with science or technology. Public engagement activities must be above and beyond job responsibilities.
- Groups or institutions will not be considered for this award. AAAS employees are ineligible.

This award is not open to “early career” nominees, who may be eligible for the AAAS Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science. Early career is defined as an individual who has completed their terminal degree within seven years of the deadline for nominations.

Nominator Eligibility:

- Nominations may be made by individuals, universities, government agencies, media, research organizations, and AAAS affiliate organizations.
- Editors from publishing houses may only offer one nomination.
- Self-nominations are permitted.
- Prior nomination does not exclude a nominee applying in subsequent years. Re-nomination is encouraged.

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination Deadline: August 1, 2019 11:59 pm ET


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online nominations:

Inquiries may be directed to:

Center for Public Engagement with Science and Technology

American Association for the Advancement of Science
1200 New York Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20005

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.