Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

The QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature

Award to a Quebec Author for an Outstanding
English-Language Children's Book

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Quebec Writers' Federation (QWF)

Deadline Date:

06/01/19 Postmarked


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $3,000 to a Quebec English-language author of children’s literature for an outstanding fiction, nonfiction, or poetry book for middle-grade or young adult readers. The awardee will be selected based on the significance of the contribution to Quebec English-language children’s literature.

To accommodate the breadth of this prize category, the Quebec Writers’ Federation has divided the QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature into two sub-categories, to be split at about the grade three reading level, depending on length and theme. Longer chapter books, middle-grade and young adult literature will be awarded one year (in odd-numbered years). Picture books with text and beginner reading will be honored the year following (in even-numbered years).

In November 2019, QWF will award a prize to honor excellence in children’s and young adult literature by a Quebec English-language writer. The QWF Prize will be awarded to the author of the eligible book of fiction, non-fiction or poetry in the sub-category of longer chapter books, middle-grade and young adult literature that the jury deems to have made the most significant contribution of the year to the body of Quebec English-language children’s literature.

Picture books with text and beginner reading books published this year and next may be submitted next year for the 2020 QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature.

Books deemed borderline by the publisher may be submitted in either year; QWF will determine the suitable category and, if required, will hold the submission for the following year and notify the publisher.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 170332

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligibility criteria:

- Books must have an ISBN, be commercially available to the public, and must have been written in English for children or young adult readers.
- Electronic and print-on-demand books are eligible provided that they became commercially available in their final form during the eligibility period, and that they meet all of the other criteria listed here.
- The author of the text must be alive and have a residence in Quebec at the time of submission. A person who has been living outside of Quebec continuously for the past five years will be considered ineligible. In the case of joint authorship (by two writers), one of the writers must satisfy all of the above requirements. Place of publication and residence of illustrator are not considered.
- The prize will be awarded to the author of the text. However, if the winning book is co-created by a writer and an illustrator who is named on the title page or otherwise given equal credit to the author of the text, or by two writers, the prize money will be divided equally between the co-creators, or, if one of the creators has died, between the living author and the deceased author’s (or illustrator’s) estate. Books with more than two co-creators are not eligible.
- The book must be published within the eligibility period specified on the call for submissions, and must be submitted by the specified deadline.
- The book must contain narrative text, dialogue, or poetry—picture books or graphic novels without written content are not eligible.
- The book must be an original work, written in English (translations are not eligible; retellings of traditional stories will be considered only if the text and interpretation are the original work of the present author).
- Collections of short stories, essays, or poems are eligible as long as at least 51% of the material has not been previously published in book form. The pieces may have been published in print or electronic magazines or journals.
- The book must be self-contained and not dependent on other media.
- Rewritten, expanded or otherwise altered books (traditional publication or print-on-demand) may be considered eligible only if the new version is deemed a new book by QWF.
- Non-literary books such as textbooks, coloring books, game books, manuals, etc. are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for submission is June 1, 2019. Forms and Fees must be postmarked by the deadline date. Books may be submitted by publishers or authors. In accordance with this deadline:

- Books published between August 1, 2017 and May 15, 2019 must be submitted for the June 1, 2019 deadline, along with a completed submission form and a $25 non-refundable submission fee.
- Publishers or authors with books coming out between May 16, 2019 and September 30, 2019 must send in the completed submission form and submission fee by the June 1, 2019 deadline. Completed books, ARCs or bound galleys must be received in the QWF office by August 1, 2019. The final published book must be received by September 30, 2019, or the submission will be disqualified.
- Books published between August 1, 2019 and September 30, 2019 may instead be submitted for the 2021 awards.

Publishers with eligible titles must send 5 copies of the book. (If a book has been published only electronically, the applicant is required to send 4 printouts and one electronic copy in PDF or EPUB format, submitted via email by the appropriate deadline date.) Each submission must be accompanied by a completed entry form, and a $25 non-refundable registration fee.

A book may be submitted to the QWF Awards only once.

QWF reserves the right to determine the suitable category of all submissions. Books assessed as unsuitable in one category will be held for the following year, and the publisher notified.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

The books, accompanied by the entry form(s) and a $25 registration fee per submission, should be sent to:

Quebec Writers’ Federation Awards
1200 Atwater Avenue, Room 3
Westmount, QC H3Z 1X4

(514) 933-0878

Lori Schubert, Executive Director

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Quebec