Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Esther J. Piercy Award

Award to a USA, Canada, or International
Early-Career Librarian for Outstanding Leadership

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Library Association (ALA) - Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award of $1,500 to a USA, Canada, or International early-career librarian to recognize outstanding contributions through technical services and library collections. Nominations are invited on behalf of librarians who demonstrate outstanding potential for continuing leadership and professional contributions.

Evidence of this promise is determined by the person's accomplishments, as they are related to technical services and resources, in such activities as:

-Leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level;
-Contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines;
-Significant contribution to professional literature; and
-Conduct of studies or research in the technical services.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 174845

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The award consists of a citation and a $1,500 grant donated by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

This award is given to a librarian with not more than 10 years of professional experience.

Eligibility is not limited by country, citizenship, or membership in a specific organization.

Pre-Application Information:

For nomination information contact Miriam Nelson (see contact details below).

The deadline for nominations is December 1.

Nominations for persons not selected for the award in one year may be resubmitted provided the person still meets the ten-year limit on length of professional experience.

The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the ALA Annual Conference.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Miriam Nelson, Chair of the Esther J. Piercy Award Jury

ALA American Library Association
50 E. Huron St.
Chicago IL 60611


URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.