Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Awards for Excellence in Teaching at the Precollegiate Level

Awards to USA and Canada K-12 Teachers for
Exceptional Instruction in Latin, Greek, or Classics

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Society for Classical Studies (SCS)

Deadline Date:

09/27/19 Receipt


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $500 to USA and Canada K-12 teachers to recognize outstanding classroom instruction of Greek, Latin, or classics. Nominations are invited on behalf of individuals demonstrating excellent teaching practices. Nominations may be made by an administrator, a colleague, a former student, or any member of the Society of Classical Studies who is familiar with the teacher's work.

Applications should address at least four of the following criteria:
- Success, size, and growth of the classics program in the candidate's school
- Outreach and promotion of the classics
- Innovative and creative classroom activity
- Evidence of improved student learning
- Meeting or exceeding goals in the Classical Language Learning Standards
- Evidence of creating a positive attitude, especially in K-6 students, toward classical languages and Greek or Roman culture
- Student success in contests and competitions
- Movement of significant numbers of students to the next level of study
- Student travel and field trips ranging from study of local architecture to study abroad
- The teacher's professional service and professional development including workshops (both taken and given), papers presented, offices held, awards received, etc.
- The teacher’s ability to engage and effectively teach a diverse student population.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181424

Number of Grants:

Up to two winners will be chosen.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Winners will receive a a cash prize of $500. In addition, each winner’s institution will receive $200 to purchase educational resources selected by the winner.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Teachers, full or part-time, of grades K-12 in schools in the United States and Canada who at the time of the application teach at least one class of Latin, Greek, or classics at the K-12 level are eligible. Membership in the SCS is not required.

No previous winner of this award is eligible to apply for it a second time. Nominees will be eligible for consideration for two consecutive years.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for the receipt of complete nomination packets is September 27, 2019. Questions about the competition may be directed to the Executive Director.

The nomination packet should be submitted via e-mail the Executive Director of the SCS.

The nomination packet should include:
1. A letter of nomination by a colleague, administrator, former student or any SCS member who is thoroughly familiar with the teacher's work.
2. The candidate's current curriculum vitae
3. A statement of teaching philosophy in which the candidate explains his or her achievements in terms of vision, strategies, and methods.
4. One to three letters of support from students, recent graduates, parents, colleagues or administrative superiors who can also speak in detail about the nominee. One of these letters must be written by someone in the field of Classical Studies

The key to a successful nomination is detailed information about the nominee's teaching practices and results. The nominator plays a crucial role in gathering and presenting this information. Due to the fact that all of the nominees are usually highly qualified, letters of nomination must move far beyond general statements that the nominee is an excellent teacher.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit nominations to:
SCS Executive Director

Society of Classical Studies
New York University
20 Cooper Square 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10003
Phone:(212) 992-7828

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon