Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and for Teaching Excellence in STEM

Awards to Canada Teachers and Groups of Teachers
for Exceptional Achievements in Education

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Government of Canada

Deadline Date:

01/14/20 11:59 AM Pacific Time; Postmarked for mailed nominations.


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of up to $1,000 and awards of up to $5,000 to Canada elementary and secondary school teachers and groups of teachers from any discipline to honor exceptional achievements in education, as well as excellence in STEM education. In addition to a cash award, recipients will receive a certificate from the Prime Minister and national recognition for their contribution to education.

This awards program includes:

  • The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence: These awards honor outstanding and innovative elementary and secondary school teachers in all disciplines for their remarkable educational achievements and for their commitment to preparing their students for a digital and innovation‑based economy. 
  • The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence in STEM: These awards recognize inspirational Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) teachers at the elementary or secondary school level who keep students engaged in STEM learning and who help develop the culture of innovation that Canada needs today, and in the future.

Teachers are eligible for two awards:

  •  The national Certificate of Excellence:
    • Carries a cash prize of up to $5,000.
    • Awards are shared equally between the recipients and their schools.
    • Recipients are traditionally invited to Ottawa to receive their award from the Prime Minister or his designate.
  • The regional Certificate of Achievement:
    • Carries a cash prize of up to $1,000.
    • Awards are given solely to the recipients.
    • Recipients are traditionally honoured locally at school events and receive their award from their Member of Parliament or local leader, as appropriate.

The school's financial award is to be spent in collaboration with the recipient. Award funds may be used for professional development, equipment, resource materials, website development, teaching aids or other tools that improve teaching and student learning.

In selecting award recipients, the committee looks for clear evidence that nominees have excelled in all of the following five areas:

  1.  Digital and Creative Literacy in the Classroom
  2.  Innovative and Exemplary Teaching Practices
  3.  Support Student Success and Skills Development
  4.  Global Citizenship and Community Involvement
  5.  Commitment and Leadership

Applications for the Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and for Teaching Excellence in STEM will be judged on the same selection criteria. Nominators for the STEM award must include specific examples on how the teacher displays excellence in STEM based teaching. 

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 144481

Number of Grants:

Up to 35 awards (10 Excellence, 25 Achievement) are offered for Teaching Excellence and up to 17 awards (2 Excellence, 15 Achievement) for Teaching Excellence in STEM.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Recipients of the award receive the following:

- Cash awards worth up to $5,000
- A certificate from the Prime Minister*
- Promotion of their best teaching practices
- National recognition for their contribution to excellence in education in Canada

*All recipient teachers receive a certificate and a letter of congratulations from the Prime Minister. Each recipient's school also receives a certificate.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Nominees - At the time of nomination, all nominees must meet the following criteria:

- Nominees must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
- Nominees must be certified to teach in a public or private school in a Canadian province/territory.
- A nominee's teaching certification must be in good standing with their provincial/territorial governing body.
- Nominees must have taught in a Canadian school at the elementary or secondary level at least 2.5 days per week in a classroom setting for a minimum of three years and must still be teaching at the time of nomination.

The PMAs are designed to honor the overall accomplishments of an individual or team of up to three teachers.

Team Nominations:

- Cash awards are to be shared equally among the team members. When team members teach in different schools, cash awards are to be shared equally among the institutions (Certificate of Excellence only).
- Each member of a team must meet the eligibility requirements described above. A team nomination should reflect a true collaboration, not simply a collection of individual accomplishments. The nomination text should describe how the team worked together to meet each of the selection criteria.
- Letters of support should endorse the accomplishments of all team members.
- Only one nomination package is accepted for a team nomination; however, separate nomination forms are required for each nominee, along with a copy of each nominee's teaching certification, evidence that each nominee's teaching certification is in good standing, and evidence of each nominee's experience.

Provided standards of excellence are met, the PMA aims to present at least one Certificate of Excellence or Achievement to outstanding Indigenous educators.

All PMA recipients are expected to conform to the program's Code of Conduct (see for details).

Nominators - Nominators may be any person or group with direct knowledge of the nominee's contribution, such as:

- Students
- Parents
- Colleague
- School principal or supervisor, etc.

The following are not acceptable nomination methods:

- Self-nominations
- Nominations from immediate family members
- Posthumous nominations

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination packages must be submitted to the Prime Minister's Awards program office by January 14, 2020 — 11:59 a.m. Pacific Time.

Please complete one nomination form for each nominee.

Nomination checklist:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Completed nomination packages can be submitted on-line, sent by email or by regular mail (see the nomination form in Supporting Documents below).

If you are having trouble downloading the nomination form, send an email to and they will send you the form by email.

Send mailed submissions to:

Prime Minister's Awards
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon