Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Hilton Humanitarian Prize

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Nonprofit
for Outstanding Contributions to Humanitarian Aid

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Deadline Date:

10/25/18 11:59 PM PDT


Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International nonprofit organization to recognize outstanding contributions to alleviation of human suffering. The purpose of this award is to honor and advance the recipient organization’s efforts and call attention to the global need for humanitarian aid, thereby encouraging others to expand their support.

The Hilton Humanitarian Prize is awarded based on achievements, rather than future goals. Therefore, the letter of nomination should focus on what the organization has accomplished. Key areas that are considered include: extraordinary contributions toward alleviating human suffering, an established record of achievement, innovation in program design, demonstration of effective partnerships, organizational capacity and administrative efficiency, ability to serve as a model for other nonprofits and demonstration of impact.

The Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize is the world’s largest annual humanitarian award presented to a nonprofit organization judged to have made extraordinary contributions toward alleviating human suffering.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 146363

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Nominee Eligibility:
- Nominees must be organizations, not individuals.
- Nominees must be established, nongovernmental, publicly supported charitable organizations. U.S. Internal Revenue Service tax-exempt status—or the equivalent for international organizations—will determine eligibility. (International nominees will be contacted by the Foundation for appropriate documentation.)
-Nominees must be legally established for at least five years in order to be considered.
- Nominees must have expenditures greater than U.S. $750,000 in their most recent audited fiscal year of operation.
- It is strongly encouraged that if a nominee has multiple branch offices that the umbrella organization be the nominee.

Nominator Qualifications:
- The nominator should have direct knowledge of the nominated organization’s work.
- The nominator may not be an officer or employee—or any other individual receiving remuneration for his or her services from the nominated organization. Board members may nominate providing they receive no payment for their service.
- The nominator may not be a family member of an officer or employee of the nominated organization.
- The nominator may not be the founder of the nominated organization.
- The nominator may not be a Conrad N. Hilton Foundation employee, board member, Prize juror or a family member of a Foundation employee, board member, or Prize juror.
- The nominator may not be a Hilton family member.

Pre-Application Information:

The nomination period will close on Thursday, October 25, 2018 at 11:59 PM PDT.

The nomination process is done entirely online. Once an organization has been nominated, the Foundation will contact the nominee directly to ask for additional information.

All nominators will be notified via email of the outcome of the Prize selection in the summer of the year the Prize is awarded.

About the Hilton Humanitarian Prize:



Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit a nomination online:

Prize Department:

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation
30440 Agoura Road
Agoura Hills, CA 91301

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.