Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) Award

Award to a Canada First Nation, Inuit, or Metis
Woman for Outstanding Community Leadership

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a Canada First Nation, Inuit, or Metis woman to recognize outstanding leadership through political, business, and community engagement. This award recognizes a women whose work has positively impacted the lives of people, both in their community and on a national scale.

The role of Indigenous women in traditional life has long been one of leadership and strength. The tenacity and determination of Indigenous women stands as a powerful testament to their role in preserving traditions and culture. Through changing economic and political landscapes since the arrival of the new peoples on the shores of Turtle Island their leadership has proudly lead the way.

In keeping with the changing times, CCAB wishes to send a strong message of national support for Indigenous women and the leadership they have championed through the exciting new Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) award.

CCAB wishes to celebrate successful, accomplished, committed Indigenous women with an award that serves as not only a national recognition but as a platform to the future. A future where Indigenous women take their rightful place at the table among men and women of all cultures in true celebration of lives well lived from tradition to academia, family to prosperity they continue to lead the way.


1. Business, Community Leadership and Life’s Worth of Excellence:
Nominees should have a history of excellence in the conduct of their business, careers, politics and community leadership reflecting their skills, vision, determination and perseverance. Laureates of Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) are distinguished people who are well advanced in their successful careers and change-making lives.

2. Contributions to Community
Nominees should be known for their contributions to the development of their community. Setting an example for others to follow can be as important as holding a formal leadership position. Nominees should enjoy broad community support because of the impact of their business or life activities. Nominees should be catalysts for change in their community.

3. Commitment to Building Capacity
Nominees should have contributed to the expansion of knowledge and capacity. Embracing new technologies while remaining committed to traditional ways is an important part of sustainable development. Nominees should have the vision to challenge accepted wisdom and move beyond it, and the commitment to give their employees or community meaningful access to training or education opportunities respecting and including traditional knowledge and culture.

4. Measurable Results
Nominees should have contributed in a substantive way to the community and/or national well-being. Their results should be identifiable and measurable, and could include economic development, employment opportunities, sustained business growth, starting and maintaining new ventures, and creating options for the future. As well as accomplishments in sectors that can include the arts, sports, politics, health, education etc.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182259

Number of Grants:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

CCAB encourages nominations from all First Nations (Status and Non-Status), Inuit and Métis business, political and nationally engaged women whose work has changed the lives of people in their communities and nationally.

Anyone 18 years of age and older is eligible to submit a nomination.

Candidates are deemed ineligible if they have an existing formal relationship with CCAB (e.g. Board of Directors, Board of Governors, Corporate Sponsor, etc.).

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination deadline: December 5, 2019

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nomination Form:

Brenda Thwaites
416.961.8663 ext. 248

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon